Comment on page
To have a common workspace for projects.
If you are a company with a large number of employees or projects, creating all of the tasks in one place makes it hard to track tasks. As a solution, you can separate tasks by creating separate Projects.
You can transfer the structure of your organization to Cubicl by creating different projects for your company's:
- and Offices in different locations.
When you create an account for your organization, a main project for your organization is created automatically. Every team member you invite to your organization account will be added to this main project, as well. You can use this project for announcements and tasks related to the whole company. Small teams do not need to create another project other than the main project. Main project includes all projects, so if you want to see all tasks in the organization, use the main project.
NOTE: The main project cannot be deleted.
Projects have a hierarchical structure and they are sub-projects of the main project. Each project is created as a sub-poroject of another project, and each project can have unlimited sub-projects.
To change the hierarchy between the projects, click on the Settings icon near the title of Projects and change the hierarchy of projects by dragging and dropping projects.
When you click on the Show My Projects button, you will only see the projects you are a member of, so you will see a simpler structure.
After clicking on the New Project button, a New Project Form will appear. Here, you can add a project name, parent project, admins and members, project permissions, and decide whether it will be a private project or not. Also, you can change these via the Project Settings page later.
You can select more than one parent project for collaborative projects for more than one unit or teamwork. To do that, you should add all related projects as Parent Project in the New Project Form. So, both the sub-projects and tasks you create will be shown under selected parent projects.
NOTE: You can change all project settings later except selecting more than one parent project for a sub-project. That is why, if you want to create a project under more than one project, you should do this on this step.
The person who created the project adds project admins and project members. At least one project admin must be added to the project while creating it. project admins have full authority in the project, which means they can edit anything on the project.
NOTE: If a person you want to add to the project is not a member of your organization account, you cannot add her as a project member to the project. You can go to the Organization Settings page to find out what you should do to invite your team members to your organization account.
NOTE: Account manager and project admin should not be confused with each other. Account manager is able to add new users to the organization, remove users, subscribe to Cubicl, and manage payments. On the other hand, a project admin manages a project in the organization. For more information about it, visit the Organization Settings page.
A private project can be viewed only by project admins and project members of it. Non-members cannot even view the name of the project in the Projects section.
To make an activity in the project, such as viewing, creating, editing, and deleting tasks, a user must have permission to do it.
Users are categorized into 4 groups depending on permission level:
- Project admins
- Project members
a. Project Admins
For project admins, there is no permission limit in the project. They can view, create, edit, and delete tasks. Since projects are in a hierarchical structure, project admins have permission in sub-projects of the parent project, as well.
b. Project Members
Project members are the users who are added to the related project. By default, they have permission only on the contribution level, which means they can view and create tasks but cannot edit and delete them.
They are individual users, you can set different permission levels for them.
d. Non-Project Members
These are people who are members of the organization but not members of the project. By default, they can only see project content. They cannot do anything other than that.
By default, the permission system works as mentioned before. However, there are some exceptions depending on the user's situation. For instance, project members cannot edit other people's tasks, but they can edit the task they have created. They can delete their own comments.
Changing Project Permissions
When you click on a project name on the Navigation Menu, you will be directed to the project. In the project you can find pages like:
- Gantt Chart
- Time Chart